Skip to content →

NOAH Workshops

NOAH Workshops

NOAH Workshops are educational fundraisers offering opportunities for community members and professionals to come together and explore a variety of topics while supporting a great cause.


opinion writing workshop with author hana schank friday, may 21, 2021 12:00pm ET

Opinion Writing Workshop

Friday, May 21, 2021
12:00pm ET // 11:00am CT // 10:00am MT // 9:00am PT

Anyone can write an opinion essay for a national publication. Really. In this 90-minute workshop, a seasoned Op Ed writer (and NOAH member) will share the secrets to writing powerful opinion essays for publication. We’ll cover what topics make good opinion essays, how to frame your subject matter appropriately for a national audience, how to write openings and endings, and you’ll leave with a formula you can apply to writing for any national publication.  No professional writing experience needed! Come with a few ideas for a topic you’d like to write on. We will be doing some writing and sharing in the session.

About the Instructor ~ Register Now!


Registration Rates:

Professional Registration: $125

NOAH Member Registration: $50

Deluxe Writing Feedback Add-On: $200

Deluxe Writing Feedback – Space Limited Opportunity!

Registered workshop participants have the opportunity to purchase a deluxe writing feedback package (only three available).

  • Hana will review a writing piece (maximum length of 1500 words) submitted in MS Word or Google Doc format
  • Within two weeks, Hana will provide a marked-up document with comments, light edits, and structural feedback.
  • The author will have one week to revise the piece and send it back to Hana for a final read. Hana will return with light edits and additional feedback within the week, along with publication placement suggestions. 

Purchaser must use this package within three months of the workshop (no later than August 21, 2021).

About the Instructor ~ Register Now!

If you are a member of the albinism community interested in this workshop, but unable to afford the fees, you may apply for a NOAH Workshop scholarship.


About the Instructor

Hana Schank is the author of four books, and has published opinion essays in the New York Times, the Washington Post, the Atlantic, Fast Company, and other national publications. She is the the Director of Strategy for Public Interest Technology at New America, a Washington DC-based think tank. To read her writing, visit her website at hanaschank.com. Hana has run versions of the Opinion Writing Workshop for her colleagues at New America, and for the United States Digital Service.